What is the USSC?

The 15-member volunteer Utah Seismic Safety Commission (USSC) and its staff from the Utah Division of Emergency Management (DEM) and the Utah Geological Survey (UGS) was established in 1994 to advise the Utah legislature, governor, state and local governmental agencies, and the private sector on earthquake safety issues. The USSC functions for state and local governments, the private sector, and the public to advance earthquake-related issues by researching, developing, and recommending earthquake policies, approaches, and outreach aimed at reducing Utah's earthquake hazards and managing Utah's earthquake risk.

Efforts to promote earthquake safety public policy began decades ago with the Utah Seismic Safety Advisory Council (1977–1981), the Earthquake Task Force of the Utah Advisory Council on Intergovernmental Affairs (1989–1991), and the Utah Earthquake Advisory Board (1991–1994).

USSC members in safety gear inside the under-construction Salt Lake City airport.
The mission of the USSC is to:
  • Review earthquake-related hazards and risks to the State of Utah and its inhabitants.
  • Prepare recommendations to identify and mitigate those hazards and risks.
  • Prioritize recommendations and present and promote them to state and local governments for adoption as policy or loss reduction measures.
  • Act as a source of information with those concerned with earthquake safety.
  • Act as a promoter of earthquake loss reduction measures and legislation.
  • Periodically update a strategic seismic planning document that helps monitor the progress toward achieving the goal of seismic risk reduction in the state of Utah.

Contact Us



Vice Chair
Steve Bowman


Vice Chair
Jessica Chappell

Meetings and Announcements

The USSC meets quarterly at several locations in the Salt Lake Valley, but most meetings are held at the Utah State Capitol, Utah Senate Building, Kletting Room. USSC members and staff are listed under the Contact Us link below. The USSC invites citizen participation in its meetings and activities. If you wish to attend a meeting, recommend a topic for consideration, or participate on a committee, please contact John Crofts at (801) 560-2637 or

Select a meeting to view more details and downloads.

Commission Members and Associations

(defined in Utah Code 63C-6-101)
Steven BruemmerAmerican Institute of Architects (AIA)
M. Leon BerrettAmerican Public Works Association (APWA)
Peter McDonoughAmerican Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Evan CurtisGovernor's Office of Planning and Budget (GOPB)
Jessica ChappellStructural Engineers Association of Utah (SEAU)
Emily MortonUniversity of Utah Seismograph Stations (UUSS)
Joaquin MixoUtah Department of Transportation (UDOT)
Patrick TomasinoUtah Division of Facilities Construction and Management (DFCM)
Kris HamletUtah Division of Emergency Management (UDEM)
Dr. Steve Bowman
(director's designee)
Utah Geological Survey (UGS)
Kyle Becker
(director's designee)
Utah Insurance
Orion GoffUtah League of Cities and Towns (ULCT)

Appointed Committee Members
Dr. Divya Chandrasekhar
University of Utah College of Architecture & Planning
Dean Dykstra
Utah State Board of Education
Robert Grow
Envision Utah

Ex-Officio Commission Members
Sean McGowan
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Chris DuRoss
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Ari Bruening
Envision Utah

Commission Staff

Self-Supporting Agencies

Utah Division of Emergency Management (UDEM)John Crofts -
Debbie Worthen -
Utah Geological Survey (UGS)Adam Hiscock -

Department of Emergency Management

Taylorsville State Office Building
4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2200
Taylorsville, Utah 84129
Phone: 801-538-3400


Utah Geological Survey

1594 West North Temple,
P.O. Box 146100
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114
Phone: 801-537-3300